Re-entry

Re-entry is harder than exiting.

This is my second blog.  I set one up many years ago (ca. 2004) when blogging just began to proliferate.  That one was a personal account of my adventures with a massive health crisis, and it lasted only a few months.  Probably because I was dealing with a massive health crisis, and I realized the internets are full of massive health crisis drama and didn’t need my blog to add to the crushing weight of Schadenfreude.  (I was wrong, since the advent of Facebook friends, Failblog.org, and the 2012 Republican primary season have concentrated Schadenfreude into a neutron star of a difficult-to-watch train wreck of failure on the internet.)

This blog will be different than the old one.  Now that I’m a mother and writer in addition to an archaeologist and eclectic geeky fan-girl, I’ve got tons more to write about.

Like this:

My next post will be a review of the use of archaeology and archaeologists as characters in literature, from the point of view of an archaeologist and a life-long fan of science-fiction, fantasy and genre fiction and movies, in greater detail than this article at tvtropes.

I’m developing a spreadsheet of stories that employ archaeology or archaeologists as characters, and would love input to round it out.

What are your favorite characters and stories (from books, movies, comics, TV shows, manga)?  What are the ones that didn’t work?  Which ones were particularly bad?  What role did archaeology play in your favorite stories, and did it work?  Extra credit for those who provide links or publication history for others to dig into the archaeological fun.

6 Comments

Filed under Archaeology, General

6 responses to “Re-entry

  1. Not sure if this is what you are looking for, but as far as fiction books, I like the series by W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O’Neal Gear called North America’s Forgotten Past. They usually start the books with people excavating objects and then the story is told about how the people lived. I’ve read the whole series.

    • Yes, that is what I’m looking for, thanks, Erin.. I haven’t read those. What genre (fantasy, literary, mystery, thriller, etc.?).

      • I guess they are just fiction books.. maybe historical fiction? I like that the series progresses through time, but not with the same set of characters, if that makes sense? Although it is helpful to read them in order because sometimes later books rely on your having knowledge about what happened before. It’s hard to explain.

        Each book (or most of them) begins at a dig site with pieces being excavated and then throughout the telling of the story of the Native People whatever item is being unearthed turns up in the story. A couple of the books have the archeologist story line interwoven with the Native story line.

        Oh! And there is usually a note from the authors about the area the story is set with some background and a bibliography of where they got information.

        Here is a link to the order in which they go.. they are still writing books, they latest ones all go together (people of the longhouse series), but normally they are all separate. http://us.macmillan.com/series/NorthAmericasForgottenPast

      • Thanks, Erin. I’ll look those up, they sound great. I’m looking for things that work and don’t work when using archaeology, though my experience is it usually doesn’t work, so it is nice to hear about something that is new to me that works.

  2. Theresa Langford

    Elizabeth Peters’ Amelia Peabody series – I will always love it. For kids, LaFevre’s Theodosia series is pretty cool! I’ll let you know if I think of any others.

    I could do without Lara Croft, The Mummy, et al.

Leave a Reply

